Who Knew?- UPDATED

Did you know yesterday was Nature Photography Day?  I didn’t, but it turns out I was celebrating it anyway.  While the boys were playing in the kiddy pool in the front yard, I wandered around with camera in hand.

Nature is one of my favorite subjects.  I love the colors, textures, creatures, sky, shapes, flowers, leaves, trees, I love just about everything nature has to offer (except ticks, I don’t like ticks).

I love to try and capture the things that are overlooked.  The small delicate moments that often get lost.  These little threads from spiders who have been exploring on our butterfly bush, for example (if you click on the picture you can see a bigger version of it).

I’m also trying to capture a bumble bee in flight.  Like this picture by Tracey Clark.  So far this is the closest I’ve gotten.

Close, but no cigar.  I was too caught up in keeping up with the bee to pay attention to things like shadows. It was another one of those situations where, if the neighbors were watching, they would have thought I was crazy.  Running around my hostas, with my camera and ducking down every few seconds.  Oh well, I need to learn to take pictures like no one is watching.

I might go out today and celebrate some more.  I know the bees are probably busy and I need a break from the laundry.

UPDATE:

We had 2 visitors today that wanted to help us celebrate Nature Photography Day part 2.  We get these kinds of visitors pretty regularly, but rarely 2 at the same time.

This guy was big and orange.  The kids were having fun playing with him until he bit Ethen.  A pretty powerful pinch.  But all was forgiven when mom broke out the ice pops.

This guy was a little smaller.  We noticed him while we were outside eating the ice pops.

I might have to start a turtle journal where I keep track of distinguishing characteristics, pictures and dates that we see them.  We could give them each a name too.   I’m curious if we are always seeing new turtles or if they come back year after year.

They don’t like being out in the open and run for cover under the plants as soon as you put them down.  I love living near the woods.

Oh, and don’t for get to vote!  Thanks!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

