My DIY Camera Bag

I have had my eye on some of the beautiful camera bags out there.  There are so many beautiful bags to choose from, but they are all a little too expensive for this thrifty person.  So, after much searching on the internet I found the perfect bag and the perfect tutorial.

The tutorial is by Lil Blue Boo.  It was a great tutorial and pretty strait forward.  The hardest part for me was doing the math to create the right size insert for my bag.

I started with this amazing vintage cherry red carry on bag by Sears, some pretty fabric, an old cardboard box, 1/2″ and 1″ foam, velcro and thread.

I cut the foam and cardboard to the sizes that I THOUGHT I needed.  Turns out I was wrong.  Luckily I cut them too big, so it wasn’t too hard to cut them down to the right size.  I used the 1″ foam for the bottom of my bag and the 1/2″ for the sides and dividers.

Using spray glue, I decided to glue the foam directly to the cardboard to keep it from shifting.  I did a test fit to make sure all of the foam/cardboard pieces fit in the bag.

I got caught up in the sewing part of this project and really didn’t take any pictures.  The pictures on the Lil Blue Boo tutorial are great and help give you an idea of what it is supposed to look like.  Here’s the insert with the foam/cardboard pieces in it and the edges pinned.  I did use a tiny bit of spray glue, between the fabric and the foam and then again between the fabric and the cardboard, to help keep everything in place.

I hand sewed the the top closed and tacked the 2 layers of fabric together in the corners and on some of the edges.  I sewed the dividers according to the directions on the tutorial and squeezed it all into the bag.  It was a perfect fit.

It ended up taking me the better part of a day to do it, but that included snack brakes, interventions, help breaks, and a few booboo kisses (boys are so busy).  There is enough room in there for my DSLR, my underwater point and shoot, my flash, my regular point and shoot, and an extra lens. I can put papers and manuals in the inside zipper pocket.  Chargers and USB cables go in the outside pocket.  There is even room on top of the insert for my wallet, a book or journal, and a few diapers (if needed).  I’m very happy with how it turned out.  Now I can’t wait to go somewhere!

 

I wanted to say thank you to everyone who has voted for me in the Circle of Moms search for the top 25 photographers.  It really means a lot to me and I’m blown away that because of your support I’m still hanging in the top 25!  Thank you!  Please click HERE if you would like to cast your vote for today!

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My DIY Camera Bag

  1. Amy

    You never cease to amaze me!!!! This is great!

Leave a Reply

