A little break

This week Jamie and I decided to train for a triathlon.  Technically it is a sprint (400m swim, 10 mile bike and 3 mile run).  I feel confident about being able to bike the 10 miles.  It will be in Florida and therefore a very flat course along the beach.  I can run 3 miles.  In fact this week I had a new 5k PR.  I’m not really fast, but it feels like you have conquered the world when you beat your previous best time.  The transition between biking and running will be a little challenging.  It’s the swimming that has me the most nervous.  I can swim, but am not really an open ocean type of swimmer.  It will be ok,  I have until July 31 to conquer my fear of “I have no idea what’s under me”.

We have started biking 2x a week, swimming 2x a week (even though I think I might do one extra) and running 2x a week.  It’s a nice change from just running.  This weekend our run is the Historic Half Relay (we are each running 6.55 miles of a half marathon).  It won’t be pretty, but I’ll get it done.  And next weekend’s run is the Warrior Dash (woo hoo, finally).  So, the next few weeks are going to be busy mentally (fighting fears of getting injured again) and physically as we get into the swing of the new training schedule.

I’m allowing myself to take a little break.  I might still post here and there, but I’m going to be easy on myself.  Not holding myself to any expectations that I have for myself.  Just going where life takes me for a few days.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A little break

  1. Darlene

    Great shot!! I wish I was as motivated as you to walk much less run in. Triathlon – you rock it girl!!!!!!

  2. Amy

    You inspire me! Enjoy your break., but know you will be missed!

  3. ArtsyMama

    Wow, you’re amazing!! Triathlons are fun. You’ll be great. Sounds like pretty rigorous training. Take care and keep us all posted.
    Kari

Leave a Reply

