Wood Block Pictures

I have seen photographers and artists using wood to mount their art.  I really wanted to give it a try.  I have no idea how they did theirs, but I thought I would share how I made mine.  I didn’t take during pictures, but I don’t think you will miss anything by not having them.

First: I used my oh so fun chop saw (I don’t think that is the technical term, it’s just what I like calling it) and cut squares out of some 1×4 boards that I had hiding in the garage.

Next, I sanded the sides and edges with a sanding sponge to make everything nice and smooth.

I painted the block with craft paint on all the sides except the side that the picture would be glued to.  After the paint dried I sanded the block again, distressing the paint (if you don’t like distressed paint then you can skip that part).

I cut the picture to the size of the block and glued it down with a thick, white, craft glue.  I think next time I do this I might try a spray adhesive, but the craft glue worked fine.  After the glue dried I sanded the edges of the picture to get rid of any paper overhang and to distress the picture a little.

I sprayed the whole thing with a matte sealer.  I might try glossy next time, just to see which I like better.

And that’s it.  It was pretty quick to do.  The ones I made were for Kari over at Artsy Mama to put in her May Day Basket.  I used pictures she had taken to make it more personal.  But I can’t wait to try it with my own pictures.  If you try this or have tried it let me know.  Do you have tips or tricks?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Wood Block Pictures

  1. ArtsyMama

    I’m so glad you shared with us how you made these. I absolutely love them!! I will have to give it a try. Thanks again for all the amazing May Basket goodies. Hope you enjoyed your package.
    Happy May Day!!
    Kari

  2. Amy

    I like that! I might try this with some of the family photos I have lying around that need framing. Thank you for the idea!
    I’m still trying to figure out how to frame the family portrait you made for us. I want to have it professionally done, but I’m not sure a traditional frame will look right. I’m open to suggestions!

  3. Amy

    A couple questions–how did you develop the picture, because we usually have ours either printed off our own printer at home (ink jet) or someplace like Target or Wal Mart and I’m worried the sealer would cause the colors in the picture to run. I’m wondering if something like Mod Podge would work, too and have the same protective effect without the risk of running the colors? I’ve used that on pictures in the past as a glue and a protectant and it’s held (I have one that is almost as old as Noah and hasn’t discolored, torn, aged, etc).
    Any other suggestions? Thank you! I’m excited about trying this with a picture of the boys!!!!! Or maybe one of my latest flower photos…. Just took some of some irises that would like nice in my kitchen!

    • I used pictures that were printed at home on my ink jet. I guess the best way to know would be to test what ever you choose for a sealing coat (mod podge or a spray) first on either a duplicate or a picture you don’t like. That way you know how it would react. It’s so easy and cheap. And they would be great to make a few for Avery to play with! I guess then you would have to find nontoxic sealer, but I’m sure mod podge would be fine too, and sand the corners really well 🙂

  4. Pingback: Pictures of wood blocks

Leave a Reply

