Sally

A few years ago I made a doll.  I named her Sally.  She’s a sweet little girl in a party dress and hat.  However whenever I look at her I think of zombies.  See, when I made her I was listening to I am Legend, the audio book.  Funny how that happens.

About a year ago I was brave and sent 6 of my dolls to Art Doll Quarterly.  My 2 snowmen were chosen and were published in the Winter 2011 magazine.  When the box of dolls finally made their way home I noticed Sally was missing.  I decided to wait and see if she was coming home in her own box.  Maybe she got lost and had to make her own way home.

Today, when I checked the mail (there was a lot since we just got back from vacation), I found this…

I did a happy dance at the mailbox!  Eeeek! Sally was published!

She was part of the Tiny Doll Challenge. She is petite, only 5″ tall.

She is basically a wooden ball, 2 wires, and a wooden block.  I drilled holes in the ball and in the block and connected the 2 with 2 equal lengths of wire.  I used paper clay to give her hair, shoes and socks.  When that was dry, I painted her head, feet and the block (there are some papers glued on the block too).  Her dress is vintage lace that I gathered with thread and wrapped around her.  The bow is glued on.  The hat was made out of paper, glued on and trimmed with glitter.

What a great surprise to start my day today!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sally

  1. Amy

    congratulations! That is wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

