The Cherry Blossoms

I have lived and worked in the Washington, D.C. metro area for more than 20 years and today is the first time I have ever seen the cherry blossoms around the Tidal Basin up close and personal. I usually avoid it because of the all of the traffic, people and well, traffic.  Today I had to go down to D.C. for a floral consultation, completely forgetting about that today is the last day of the Cherry Blossom Festival.

From the moment I crossed the 14th street bridge I knew it was going to be a long day.  The traffic was  thick.  So I decided to make the best of it.  I didn’t bring my big camera, all I had was my phone and Instagram.

So I thought I would document my time stuck in traffic.

This tour of D.C. isn’t as good as the tour that these lucky ducks are getting, but you will get to see some of the sites.

Here are the cherry blossoms and some of their admirers.  It has been rainy for the past few days.  So today when it was 60 degrees and sunny it everyone jumped at the chance to come outside.  There were so many people! And so many cars.  It took me an hour to go 2.5 miles, sigh.  But people watching was so much fun!

So, now I can now officially say that I have seen the cherry blossoms during the Cherry Blossom Festival.  I guess it counts, right?

 

DISCLAIMER: All photos were taken while the car was stopped at a light or stopped due to traffic.  I  try to be safe while driving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

