Running

In 2009 my New Years resolution was to do something physically challenging.  That year in October I walk in the Breast Cancer 3 Day (3 days, 60 miles).

In 2010 I wanted to take the physical challenge to the next level.  I signed up for the Warrior Dash.  I’m wasn’t a runner.  In fact my favorite thing to tell people was that I only ran if I was being chased.  Well, that summer I became a runner.  I ran every other day in June, July, August and September.  But then tragedy struck! Two weeks before the Warrior Dash I ended up herniating a disc in my back.  I was angry. I was sad. I was even a bit depressed.

I spent the rest of 2010 letting my back heal.  And it did.  So when 2011 rolled around, I decided I have to try again.  I started running again in January.  I have talked a big talk about all the races I wanted to sign up for this spring, but not actually signing up.  That was until my husband got home one evening and told me that he had gotten me into a sold out race…in a little over a week!  EEEP!

Well, on February 13, 2011 I ran in my first 5k race. Love the Run You’re With and I feel like a conquered the world, even though it is only 3.1 miles.  But I did it.  I ran the whole thing, despite the hills.  On top of it I ran the whole thing close to my goal pace, despite the hills.  And managed to snap a picture or two with my phone while running.

Later that day I came home and officially signed up for the other 3 races that I want to do this spring.  The next one is the Parkway Classic 5k in April.  Then in May I talked my husband into doing the Historic Half Relay and The Warrior Dash. Then I’m done until the fall, heehee.

Running has been an amazing outlet for stress.  All the stress, anxiety, and frustration that is going on in my life gets funneled into my run.  I let myself get lost in the rhythm of my breathing, matching the foot falls to the beat of the music.  For a few moments it’s just me and nothing else.

A monster has been created!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Running

  1. I’m signed up for warrior dash too! As long as my ankle gets better, I’m dashing! We can toast each other afterwards with our viking helmets and beers! 🙂

  2. Lynn

    You are such an inspiration! You should feel on top of the world because you deserve it! The world is yours girl! Love you oxox

Leave a Reply

