The Struggle

“Why are you trying so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?”

That quote popped up on my twitter a few months ago (@FamousWomen Inspirational Quotes).  I have been thinking about it quite a bit.

Sometimes I feel like a super hero with a secret identity.  People who don’t know me just see mild mannered Morgen.  Making assumptions about me without taking the time to find out more.  I can’t blame them, I’m guilty of that with others.  Deep down inside I do believe that everyone has their own super powers/creative force that drives them, we just need to take the time to get to know them.

Other times I feel like it is all a case of mistaken identity.  People see more in me than I see.  It must be a mistake.  I’m just an ordinary person living my ordinary life.  Ordinary, but desperately trying to stand out, to be recognized as different.  Not noticing or recognizing that I am different.

Now, I know, deep down inside, that I’m special, I have creative gifts, I have my own way of capturing the world, I am like no other person on this earth in so many ways.  I have even been told that I am an inspiration *blush*- this is part of the mistaken identity Morgen- not me.

It’s all a crazy struggle.  One I probably think about way too much.  I guess ultimately I want to be me, fully completely, without any doubt, me.  I want to be able to trust myself creatively.  I just need to learn how to get there.  If you have any tips to share please let me know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

