Orange

Monday mornings.  I despise the 4 am wake up, but am totally in love with flowers I get to play with.  This is the beginning of the spring flower season in the floral design world.  Tulips, lilac, viburnum, hyacinths, ranunculus, forsythia, muscari, and peonies just to name a few.

I love the “change of seasons” at the wholesaler’s.  It is what makes it hard to ever choose a favorite flower.  All my old favorites are available again.  I haven’t seen some of these flowers in almost 10 months.  And in a few more months even more old favorites will be popping up.  How can I pick just 1 flower.  So I usually tend to take it on a week by week basis.  Last week was the ranunculus.  But not just any ranunculus, orange ranunculus.  So yummy.

This was taken on the day I brought them home.  A gorgeous color, but really not that impressive yet.  Oh, but wait…

Twenty four hours later and look! They just explode with what has to be hundreds of little petals.  My husband finds me every now and then standing at the sink “petting” them.  I can’t help it.

Here they are 8 days later.  Still beautiful! But you can tell they are on their way out (the bottom petals are getting old and papery).  I will keep them around though until they completely fall apart.

I want to be like this flower, just shining bright, making people smile, being myself and aging gracefully.  I may get old and papery around the edges (I may have already started- new wrinkles and grey hairs) but I will still just shine.  I’m not sure if that makes sense though.  Oh, well.  It has been a long couple of days.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Orange

  1. Darlene

    Great post – love the flowers

  2. This is exactly what I needed exploding across my screen! What great, vibrant colors. I always love your flowers!

Leave a Reply

