Cold-Induced Winter Onset Claustrophobia

I have suffered for years.  It wasn’t until this year that I was able to finally give it a name.  Cold-Induced Winter Onset Claustrophobia.  As the weather turns colder I venture outside less.  Simple things like sweaters, scarves, jackets and hats make me feel trapped.  As the days go on the house starts to feel smaller and smaller.  I can’t open the doors and windows, it’s just too cold.  A part of me just shuts down.

This year it has effected my camera.  I am having a hard time finding beauty in the everyday bits of life.  This wasn’t a problem during warmer months, so it has to be the cold.  I have been turning to another creative outlet the past few days, art journaling.  I was inspired by this post by Karen Walrond and figured I would give it a try.

I steal 5 minutes here, a quick second there to work on the pages.  I try not to think or plan anything.  I just want to let the creativity out.

As I start to back up the camera dyou will notice exactly how messy my desk is.  It is a disaster, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I know where everything is.

Ugh, I can’t believe I’m sharing this picture.  There are unfinished projects, scraps from finished projects, things that I have to fix for the kids (yes that is a clone trooper mask in the back), and many of my supplies.

I have to work on getting back into taking pictures of the everyday stuff.  Just because I’m cold and it is grey and dreary out doesn’t mean that I should loose track of the beauty in everyday things.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cold-Induced Winter Onset Claustrophobia

  1. Darlene

    I love this blog because I feel the same way and you should see my office area and desk!!!! January usually starts my being trapped feeling!!! it snows more and it seems colder and I am stuck at work when I should be out creating!!!
    I LOVE the photos you took of your desk and creative space – I can’t create in mine right now because of the chaos!!!
    I bought colored pencils today at lunch and snapped a quick shot to try get the creative juices flowing again because of a photo I saw on your blog – you inpsire me!!!!!

  2. Pingback: 32 Days « Morgen Bearse

Leave a Reply

