Mermaid Frames

My favorite shells to pick up at the beach are the oyster type shells.  I love the shells that have been knocked around a few times by the ocean waves and now have a little hole in them.  I always imagine that they are little frames that belonged to a mermaid.  These frames have held all her cherished memories of her friends and family.

After a great night collecting shells I decided that I had to give it a try.  All those empty frames needed pictures. I have a limited amount of art supplies right now, we are at the beach on vacation, but I wasn’t going to let that stop me.

I used printed out images, a glue stick, some small scraps of lace, and a few dots of paint.  I cut the image to size, decided if it needed any lace accents, and glued it all in place. After the glue was dry I used a bobby pin to embellish the frames with dots of paint.

If I had my full art studio I would add glitter, tiny flowers, pearls, and I would use real vintage images.  I think they turned out pretty cute.  I can’t wait to fill more frames when we get home.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mermaid Frames

  1. What an absolutely inspired idea, they look beautiful!!

  2. Love these Morgen they are sooo cute…

Leave a Reply

