I love swaps

This year I have discovered swaps.  Who knew that you could sign up with other creative people, make some fun stuff and get fun stuff in return?  The first swap I did was handmade envelopes.  Then came the embroidered button swap.  The first time I ever embroidered or made buttons.  I also participated in a hand made card swap.  My last swap was a May Day Basket.  It was the biggest swap I had done.  A decorated basket brimming with art supplies, little craft projects and chocolate!  It is so much fun putting these things together and getting boxes in the mail in return.

I learned that there is a website dedicated to doing swaps. However, for the sake of my husband, kids and home I have made a great effort to stay away from this site.  When I do a swap I think of nothing else and am completely preoccupied until it’s done.

At the beginning of June I signed up for a vacation themed swap from Jenny over at Everyday is a Holiday.  I just had to join in on this one.  It involved thrifting, crafting and chocolate!  I am done and thought I would share what I did.  My first thrifted item was an old binoculars case.  It was brown and in pretty bad shape.  But after a coat or two of paint and some little embellishments I think it turned out quite cute.

Here’s a close up.

As you can see I went with a beach theme.  I love the beach.  I packed it full of fun art supplies.  She is a mixed media artist like me, so I am hoping she thinks they are as fun as I do!

My swap partner said she goes to the beach and likes to have picnics. When I found this blanket at the thrift store I thought it would make a perfect beach picnic blanket.  I bought the blanket and a white braided belt.  I cut the belt in half, sewed the d-ring on to it and sewed on buttons to make straps for the blanket.

I think it looks like an old man wearing spectacles.  Can you see it?

For my last crafty thing I made a beachy bird nest in a bowl.  That’s about the only way I can think to describe it. I think it turned out cute.

Now to pack it up and mail it out!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I love swaps

  1. It looks amazing! I love how you’ve transformed your thrifty finds, very inspiring! You recipient is very lucky.

  2. Wow, what a treasure that would be to receive in the mail. Looks lovely! I have often entertained the thought of joining a swap, but keep chickening out, because I’m afraid I would miss a deadline. 🙂 It sure looks like fun though.

    And thank you so much for stopping by blog, just for the record my studio apprentice does indeed give massages, when he’s in mood of course. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I like swaps because of the deadline. It makes me focus on one project. Normally I bounce from project to project, but having that deadline helps. Your apprentice is adorable. And the chance of a massage makes him even better 🙂

Leave a Reply

